Built environment award winners announced

25 October 2013

A Sandringham property took out the coveted Best of the Best award at Bayside City Council’s eighth annual Built Environment Awards on Wednesday.

170 Beach Rd, Sandringham was awarded the top honour, which acknowledges the most outstanding contribution to the Bayside built environment.

Designer Angelo Pignalosa of Rothe Lowman collected the award on the night.

The property also took out the award for best medium density housing.

Judges Kim Dovey, Peter Boyle, Robert Caulfield, Heather Stewart, James Long and Matt Kelleher congratulated the team behind the project on its quality, design and streetscape presence.

Judges were impressed by the way the medium-density project brought a “new form of living to one of Melbourne’s premier boulevards”.

Bayside mayor Stephen Hartney said this year’s entries were all of a high standard.
“The awards intend to raise community awareness of design, landscape and heritage issues and publicly acknowledge architects and designers who have positively contributed to the city’s built environment, and this year was no different,” Cr Hartney said.
 “170 Beach road was the stand out for judges, but I congratulate all entrants this year on submitting their work – without it we wouldn’t be able to host this prestigious event.”

Winners for the other awards were also announced on the night.

Winner of the Best New Residential Building was 5 Retreat Rd, Hampton, designed by Jackson Clements of Burrows Architects.

Winner of the Best Residential Renovation or extension was 148 New St, Brighton, designed by Jenny Rizzo of Inarc Architects.

Winner of the Most Creative Design was 5 Retreat Rd, Hampton, designed by Tim Jackson of Jackson Clements Burrows Architects.

Winner of best heritage renovation or restoration was 73 Champion St, Brighton, designed by Sherbrooke Design and Construction.

Winner of the Best Ecologically Sustainable Design was 24 Glencairn Ave, Brighton East, designed by Ben Callery of Zen Architects.

Page last updated: 25 Oct 2013