New Bayside Council Sworn In and New Mayor Elected

13 November 2012

The seven recently elected Bayside Councillors were sworn into office by the Council Chief Executive, Adrian Robb, at Bayside City Council’s Annual Meeting last night.  The new Council will serve a four year term.

Following the swearing in ceremony, the Council elected Central Ward Councillor Stephen Hartney to the role of Mayor for the next 12 months.

Fellow Central Ward Councillor James Long was subsequently elected Deputy Mayor.

Accepting the role of Mayor, Cr. Hartney thanked his fellow Councillors for their vote of confidence and residents of his Central Ward for their support.  

He emphasised his commitment to being a team player and to helping the Council achieve its vision.  He also emphasised his desire to “get people working together for the best outcome of the community”.

Councillor Hartney, an engineer by profession, will take leave from his current job to serve as a full time Mayor. He and his wife Hana live in Highett and have a 25 year old daughter.
Taking the oath of office as Bayside Councillors at the Special Council meeting last night were:

Northern Ward

  • Alex del Porto (returned)
  • Michael J. Heffernan (newly elected)

Central Ward

  • James Long (returned)
  • Felicity Frederico (returned)
  • Stephen Hartney (newly elected)

Southern Ward

  • Heather Stewart (newly elected)
  • Laurence Evans (newly elected)

Page last updated: 13 Nov 2012