Left to right: Cr Laurence Evans, Cr Felicity Frederico, Cr James Long, Cr Alex del Porto, Cr Heather Stewart, Cr Bruce Lowe and Cr Michael Heffernan

James Long



Councillor for Central Ward

M: 0400 828 688
F: (03) 9598 4474
Councillor support: (03) 9598 2046
E: jlong@bayside.vic.gov.au

James Long was elected to Council in 2005 and was Mayor of Bayside City Council in 2008/2009. 

Cr Long is an East Brighton resident who graduated from Deakin University with a Bachelor of Arts (Multidiscipline).

Cr Long is also the recipient of The Bravery Medal (Australian Honours Year 2000) and the Australian Defence Force Medal (Year 2008).

Cr Long is also:

  • Past National President of the Australian Bravery Association having served three terms;
  • A Justice of the Peace;
  • Past President, Past Assistant Governor and Past District Director within the Rotary District of 9800;
  • A foundation Director of Melbourne City Opera Company where he currently volunteers in marketing, design, publications and front of house for the company;
  • A foundation Director of the Australian Bravery Foundation;
  • A foundation member of the Australian Bravery Institute

For the financial year 2012/13 Cr Long represented Bayside City Council on the following committees:

  • Built Environment Awards
  • Bayside Film Festival Judging Panel
  • Municipal Association of Victoria (July 2012 – October 2012)

Page last updated: 06 Nov 2014

Learn about Council's…