australia day awards chairs and flags

Australia Day Awards

The Australia Day Awards recipients were announced on 26 January 2016.  The awards recognise people who have made outstanding contributions to our community during 2015. The recipients were:

Australia Day Citizen Award

Russell Burton for his leadership work at the 1st-14th Brighton Sea Scouts.

Australia Day Young Citizen Award

George Elliot for his work with the Bayside Youth Services FreeZa program.

Community Event of the Year Award

Hampton RSL for its involvement with the 100th Anniversary Commemoration Dawn Service of ANZAC Day.

Australia Day Environment Awards

The Australia Day Environment Awards recognise the environmental excellence of individual Bayside residents or an organisation by taking leadership in the local community with an initiative, project and/or activity. The Award particularly recognises those residents that aim to empower and inspire others, form partnerships and show commitment and perseverance.


Michael Norris for his contribution to protecting and enhancing Bayside’s natural environment through his involvement with the Highett Grassy Woodlands Friends Group.


Beach Patrol 3193 - Ricketts Point – in honour of its work protecting the Ricketts Point Marine Sanctuary.

Page last updated: 25 Jan 2016

Russell Burton - Australia Day Citizen of the Year 2016

George Elliot - Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year 2016