Go to top of page

Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize

The Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize (BAAP) is an annual painting prize and exhibition that aims to increase opportunities for participation in Bayside’s arts and cultural program. 

It aims to foster a sense of identity, pride and place in Bayside through a community event and enable the acquisition of suitable artworks for the Bayside City Council Art and Heritage Collection.

BAAP will be judged by industry professionals who will award total prize monies and acquisitive funds of $19,000.

The judging panel for 2017

  • Samantha Comte, Curator and Exhibition Coordinator, Ian Potter Museum of Art, The University of Melbourne
  • Jason Smith, Director Geelong Gallery
  • Joanna Bosse, Curator, The Gallery at BACC


Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize: $15,000
Local art prize: $3,000
People's choice award: $1,000


2016 Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize winners

Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize: Peter Westwood for Passivity: after 'an episode from a fight' (2015), oil on linen mounted on dibond, 149 x 79cm. Courtesy the artist.

Local art prize: Rob McHaffie for Private school pash (2016), oil on linen, 122 x 76cm. Courtesy the artist and Darren Knight Gallery, Sydney.


Terry Batt, Jon Cattapan and Lyndell Brown and Charles Green, Celeste Chandler, Isobel Clement, Samuel Rush Condon, Peter Daverington, Andrew Duong, Jaye Early, Robert Fenton, Jennifer Goodman, Helga Groves, James Guppy, Katherine Hattam, Grant Hill, Paul Jackson, Amanda Johnson, Jordan Marani, Karla Marchesi, Rob Mchaffie, Carlo Pagoda, Valentina Palonen, David Ralph, Steven Rendall, Jack Rowland, Brad Rusbridge, Josh Simpson, Camilla Tadich, Fatemeh Vafaeinejad, Michael Vale, Deborah Walker, Peter Westwood, and Alex Zubryn.

Please visit the BAAP website to view the finalists' works.

The judging panel for 2016: Guy Abrahams, CEO and Co-founder CLIMARTE; Kirsty Grant, Director and CEO Heide Museum of Modern Art; and Julie Skate, Gallery Supervisor, The Gallery at BACC.


Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize: Kevin Chin for Less than white (2015). 

Local art prize: Stieg Persson for Brighton Singerie (2015). 

People's choice award: Shannon Smiley for Descent (2014) 


Benjamin Aitken, Graeme Altmann, Terry Batt, Christopher Beaumont, Dean Bowen, Lynne Boyd, Trevor 'Turbo' Brown, Jon Cattapan, Kevin Chin, Isobel Clement, Jonathan Crowther, Nanou Dupuis, Prudence Flint, Marc Freeman, Jennifer Goodman, Katherine Hattam, Christine Healy, Richard Knafelc, Margaret Loy Pula, Mark McCarthy, Rob McHaffie, Emily Ngarnal Evans, David Palliser, Stieg Persson, Eugenia Raftopoulos, Reko Rennie, Shannon Smiley, Julian Aubrey Smith, Tai Snaith, Kate Tucker, Deborah Walker, Darren Wardle, and Jud Wimhurst.

Please visit the Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize website to view the finalists' works.

The judging panel for 2015: Deputy Director of the NGV Frances Lindsay AM; Dr Vincent Alessi, Curatorial Manager, Ian Potter Museum of Art; and Julie Skate, Gallery Supervisor, The Gallery at BACC.