Skip to main content

About Bayside

Bayside City Council proudly acknowledges the Bunurong People of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which Council operates.

The City of Bayside is located southeast of Melbourne, along Port Phillip Bay, which forms the western boundary of Bayside, while Nepean Highway and the Melbourne to Frankston railway line form most of the eastern boundary. The northern most boundary runs along Glen Huntly Road and is just eight kilometres from Melbourne’s central business district.

Bayside covers an area of 37 square kilometres and comprises the former cities of Brighton and Sandringham, and parts of the former cities of Mordialloc and Moorabbin. It includes the suburbs of Beaumaris, Black Rock, Brighton, Brighton East, part of Cheltenham, Hampton, Hampton East, part of Highett and Sandringham.

Bayside City Council was created on 14 December 1994, and is home to more than 107,541 individuals, which has been steadily increasing for over a decade. Bayside has seven wards, each represented by an individual Councillor. View a map of Bayside.

Read more about

Found out more about our beautiful home and how we're working with the community to make it better.


Places near me

Use this map to find services and facilities around you. Enter your address into the search bar and the map will provide details about waste and recycling collection days, street sweeping schedule, dog walking parks and more.