Skip to main content

Bayside Painting Prize 2024

Finalist Exhibition: 3 May to 23 June 2024

Bayside Gallery is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2024 Bayside Painting Prize.  

After receiving over 600 submissions, our panel of esteemed judges selected 46 artists whose works will be exhibited at Bayside Gallery from 3 May to 23 June. 

The Bayside Painting Prize is a celebration of contemporary Australian painting. The finalist exhibition brings together a broad range of artists, both established and lesser known, whose varied approaches to the painted medium conveys the breadth and diversity of painting in Australia today.

As the only annual prize for painting in Victoria, the finalist exhibition is an important platform for contemporary painters from around the country. The prize is also an opportunity for Bayside City Council to promote art and artists as a valuable part of the Australian community, and add exceptional works of art with a local connection to its collection .

The Bayside Painting Prize awards include the $25,000 Major Prize, the $10,000 acquisitive Beckett Local Prize, and the $1,000 People's Choice Prize. 

Congratulations to all artists: 

Samara Adamson-Pinczewski, Sally Anderson, Joel Arthur, Nathan Betts, Natasha Bieniek, Seth Birchall, Amber Boardman, Max Bowden, Kirsty Budge, Betty Campbell, Emma Coulter, Rhys Cousins, Dagmar Cyrulla, Ryan William Daffurn, Rhett D'Costa, Noni Drew, Ella Dunn, Andrea Eckersley, Emily Ferretti, Martin George, Mark Gowing, Marie Hagerty, Katherine Hattam, Sophia Hewson, Mark Hislop, Franky Howell, Anna Hoyle, Kez Hughes, Casey Jeffery, Linda Judge, Sarah Low, Gian Manik, Natalie Mather, Anne-Marie May, Jan Murray, Jessica Nothdurft, Kenny Pittock, Julia Powles, David Ralph, Victoria Reichelt, Joanne Sisson, Georgia Spain, Adriane Strampp, Umatji Tjapalyi, Anne Wallace, Angus White

For more information about the 2024 Bayside Painting Prize, visit the Bayside Painting Prize website. 

Image credit: Installation views, Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize 2023. Photo: Mark Ashkanasy

Read more Bayside news