fbpx New wards, new names | Bayside City Council Go to top of page

New wards, new names

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Ahead of October 2020 Council elections, Bayside City Council’s electoral structure and ward boundaries are changing.

Bayside is moving to a single member ward structure going from three wards to seven as specified in the Victorian Government’s new Local Government Act 2020.

With an almost immediate response requested by the Minister for Local Government, the decision of the new ward names was up for debate at last night’s Ordinary meeting of Council Meeting.

In determining names for the seven ward structure, Council considered the historical significance of the area, well known places, and notable individuals and particularly females to provide a great mix of names that reflect our wonderful municipality.

The proposed new ward boundaries and names are outlined below.

Ward A- Dendy Ward          

Named after Henry Dendy, a significant historical landowner, who purchased over 2 ha of land in 1841 on which the City of Brighton was developed.

Ward B- Bleazby Ward

Named after Elizabeth Bleazby first female Councillor of the City of Brighton from 1930-1946 and the daughter of former Mayor, Councillor and Premier of Victoria The Hon. Thomas Bent.

Ward C- Castlefield

Named after the historical post war housing estate.

Ward D- Boyd Ward

Named after the Boyd family of painters, sculptors, authors, potters and an architect. The family in various branches lived in Brighton, Sandringham, Black Rock and Beaumaris over more than a century and the women of the families were artists in their own right. The generations of the artists painted extensively along the foreshore and beaches, designed beautiful houses particularly in Beaumaris and the sculpture on the corner of Bluff Road and Royal Avenue which was created in Edward Street, Black Rock.

Ward E- Ivison Ward

Named after Ruby May Ivison MBE, the first female Councillor of the City of Sandringham from 1961-1976 and Mayor of the City 1967/68 and 1973/74.

Ward F- Ebden

Named after Charles Ebden, former Member of Parliament from 1843, former Auditor General for the State of Victoria and significant land and home owner of Black Rock House located in Black Rock.

Ward G- Beckett

Named after Clarice Beckett, (1887-1933). One of Bayside’s most significant female artists. Beckett usually painted in the early morning or at dusk, around the bays and streets of her family home in Beaumaris and nearby areas including Black Rock, Sandringham and Brighton. Depicting images of ordinary life, these works remain unique for their time and are held in Australia’s major state and regional galleries.

Map of new boundaries for Bayside wards