Skip to main content

Planning and Amenity Delegated Committee

The Planning and Amenity Delegated Committee was established in accordance with Section 63 of the Local Government Act 2020. The Committee replaced the former Planning and Amenity Committee established under the Local Government Act 1989.

The Planning and Amenity Delegated Committee considers all matters relating to statutory planning, tree removal applications and traffic and parking matters. The Committee does not determine upon any policy or strategy matters.

The Committee has specific delegated powers from Council to be exercised only in accordance with an Instrument of Delegation pursuant to Section 11(1)(b) of the Local Government Act 2020 which relates to the following functions:

  • to exercise Council's powers, discretions and authorities and to perform Council's functions under the Planning and Environment Act 1987, and to do all things necessary or convenient to be done for or in connection with the exercise of those powers, discretions and authorities
  • to determine upon any application made under clause 21 of Council's Neighbourhood Amenity Local Law 2021 or any like provision of a local law made by Council
  • to determine any issue or thing or take any action in connection with any traffic or parking matter relating to the municipal district.

Membership of the Committee comprises of all Councillors, and the quorum of this Committee is a majority of the Council members.

The current membership of the Planning and Amenity Delegated Committee is:

  • Cr Hanna El Mouallem
  • Cr Sonia Castelli 
  • Cr Alex del Porto 
  • Cr Laurence Evans OAM  
  • Cr Clarke Martin
  • Cr Jo Samuel-King (Chair)
  • Cr Fiona Stitfold.